Do you know someone who has recently been arrested on receiving stolen property charges in California?
Perhaps they were just keeping the property “safe” for a friend.” Maybe, they didn’t commit the actual theft, but they were just trying to sell the stolen property. In either case, they have still broken the law.
Penal Code 496 PC states: It is a crime to buy, sell, receive, conceal or withhold property that was stolen. Even if the arrestee got the property from a middle man, they are still considered to be just as responsible for having committed a crime as if they stole the property themselves. (One example of this would be a person who keeps a car that his friend had stolen, safely inside of his garage.)
Call SCV Bail Bonds now toll-free, nationwide if someone you care for has been arrested on receiving stolen property charges in California, at 877-422-4591 (877 4 BAIL 911).
When someone is arrested for receiving stolen property it’s commonly called a ‘theft offense.’ If someone you know and care about has been taken into custody on these charges, you are welcome to call SCV Bail Bonds, 24/7 – for help.
If you are the arrestee, you owe it to yourself to make us your first call. Our dedicated agents get our clients home where they belong — fast! We offer free consultations, during which we take all the time you need to explain the bail bond process. We are familiar with every jail in Southern California, Ventura County, and anywhere in the state of California.
We always lend our clients a trusted shoulder they can lean on. When it comes to charges of Receiving Stolen Property – or any other charge — we will provide a private setting in which you can openly discuss your situation. Our SCV agents can quickly approve your application right over the phone, by fax or email. We can also meet you at your home, office or the jail. Or, if you prefer, visit our website and download our application.
Overview of Receiving Stolen Property Charges
A charge of receiving stolen property under California Penal Code 496 PC is considered to be a ‘wobbler.’ This means that, depending on the circumstances of the arrest and the arrestee’s history, they may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony.
- If the property received has a value of less than $400 dollars, it will likely be a misdemeanor. Those convicted of a misdemeanor may be facing one year in a county jail.
- if value of the property received is over $400 dollars, the arrestee will likely be charged with a felony. If so, they can receive anywhere from sixteen months to three years in prison.
- If the stolen property was an expensive vehicle – say a car, trailer, special construction equipment, or a boat, their sentence may be enhanced. This means, that while the same county jail or state prison sentence still applies:
- A misdemeanor conviction can carry an additional maximum $1,000 fine
- A felony conviction can carry an additional maximum $10,000 fine.
Unlike most criminal offenses, California Penal Code 496 PC sets forth civil penalties for receiving stolen property, too. Anyone deemed to be injured by this crime can collect three times the amount of his/her loss, in addition to his/her attorney’s fees, plus the cost of a civil lawsuit.
These charges fall under “Receiving Stolen Property” Charges 496PC
Bail Amounts for Receiving Stolen Property Charges
In California, bail amounts are set according to each California County’s Bail Schedule, so they will vary. A judge can also set bail at or above the amount, or even refuse bail in some arrests, particularly for repeat offenders. For example, San Luis Obispo and San Diego counties both set a bail amount of $50,000 for 1st degree burglary, but in Los Angeles County, an arrestee must go to court before getting their bail set.
If you are in doubt about the bail amount, please contact SCV Bail Bonds. We have experience in different California counties so we can provide you solid information about how much the bail will be in your particular case.
Bail Assistance with Receiving Stolen Property Charges
If you’ve been contacted by someone in jail, or arrested yourself, you need trusted help fast. The first thought that might run through your mind is: “What do I do next?” That’s where we come in. We invite you to call SCV Bail Bonds because you can trust that we have the experience it takes to obtain a fast release.
We offer flexible payment options and our bail bond agents are happy to discuss each defendant’s unique situation and budgetary needs.
We are accredited members of the Better Business Bureau, the California Bail Agents Association and PBUS. Please see why choosing us can really make a difference by visiting our bail articles and information page or giving us a call. You will always speak to a live bondsman – never a machine. Best of all, our consultations are always free.
SCV Bail bonds is open 24/7, weekends and holidays. We’ll give you the best service to suit your needs and your schedule. Call now at: 877-422-4591 (877-4-BAIL 911).