Penal Code 240-248
If you require a bail bond for someone arrested on battery charges, we can help you.
“Battery” in the California Penal Code is described as, “an unlawful attempt to use force or violence against another that includes physical contact.”
Injury is not necessary for assault charges to be leveled against a person, however, provided some sort of unwanted contact is initiated.
Battery charges can be leveled simply by touching someone in a way that is willful, unlawful and harmful and/or offensive.
Battery vs. Assault
“Battery” is often used interchangeably with the term “assault,” but they are actually two different crimes.
Battery and assault are quite similar, however:
- Battery refers to crimes in which contact is made with another.
- Assault refers to the attempt to make contact with another.
Thus, it is possible to be charged with assault without actually making contact with another human being. However, it is not possible to be charged with battery without also being charged with assault because it is impossible to: willfully make contact with another person without attempting to do so first.
Like many crimes in the State of California, Battery can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
If battery charges are pressed against a person in which the accuser was uninjured, it will most likely be handled as a misdemeanor known as “simple battery.” If a person is seriously injured due to battery, then felony charges can be brought up.
However, if the person who presses battered charges is a police officer or other civil servant who receives special protection, then battery which would otherwise be classed as a misdemeanor can instead be classified as a felony. In cases such as this, defendants can, and often do, receive harsher sentences should they be convicted.
Misdemeanor of Felony?
- Misdemeanor battery charges carry with them a possible sentence that includes: up to 3 years of informal (summary) probation, 6 months in county jail, $2,000 maximum fine, community service and possibly completion of a batterer’s program.
- Felony battery charges can be brought if the victim of battery suffers serious bodily injury, it can be prosecuted as a felony and the possible sentence includes: up to 4 years in State Prison, formal probation, and a possible strike under California’s 3 Strikes Law.
If someone you know or love has been arrested and charged with Battery, you’ve probably got a lot of questions about how to get them out of jail.
A licensed bail bondsman is ready to speak with you any time, 24/7 at 877-422-4591.
What to Expect When Arrested for Battery
When arrested for battery, arrestees are taken to the local police or Sheriff’s Station for booking and processing. This is the procedure that includes photographs, fingerprinting and a background check.
Depending on the location of the arrest and how busy the police station is, booking and processing can take anywhere from 1 to 4 hours. Once booking and processing is complete, bail will be set for those who are eligible.
Bail Bond Process
Upon contacting us, we will ask you a few quick questions to get the bail bond application process started. The information will include the name of the inmate, the bail bond amount, their birth date as well as where and when they were arrested.
It will help to have this information ready beforehand in order to expedite the process. Upon approval of the bail bond, a few forms will need to be signed. For your convenience, we can meet you at your home, at the jail, or even have the relevant paperwork filled out by fax or email.
Premium Bail Service
When you speak with us, rest assured that all of your questions will be answered with the utmost urgency. The application process is quick and easy, taking only a few minutes to complete over the phone and can be handled from the comfort of your own home, or we can even meet you at the jail if need be.
You can always depend on SCV Bail Bonds if you are in need of a bail bond in California. We are available 24/7, 365 days a year.
If you’re in need of a bail bond for battery, call us immediately. We know times like this can be stressful and difficult, and are well-equipped to help you through it as quickly as possible.
For more information regarding battery charges or any charge in California, call and to speak now with a licensed bail bondsman, call us at 877-4-BAIL-911 (877-422-4591).