Two Temple City retailers were robbed within an hour of each other by women wielding stun guns. The first store to be hit was a CVS pharmacy where witnesses reported that two women walked in, picked up multiple items, and left without paying for them. An employee of the store confronted the women as they were leaving when one of the suspects brandished an old model stun gun. The confrontation between the employee and the suspects was caught on surveillance video in the store.
The second robbery occurred 45 minutes later and 3 miles away at a Vons grocery store. At this robbery, three suspects entered the store, picked up some baby formula and attempted to leave without paying for it. Once again the suspects were confronted – this time by a security guard – and once again one of them brandished a stun gun. The security guard tried to stop the women from leaving, but the one wielding the stun gun tried to shock him with it. After that, the security guard let them go.
Robbery is covered under California Penal Code 211 PC and is described as the taking of another person’s personal property, directly from the person or from the person’s immediate presence, against the person’s will, accomplished by using force or fear.
In California, robbery is divided into two sections: first-degree robbery and second-degree robbery – both of which are felonies.
A robbery is considered first-degree if:
- The victim is a passenger or driver of a bus, taxi, streetcar, cable car, subway car, etc.
- The robbery takes place in an inhabited structure or
- The victim just used an ATM and is still in the vicinity of the ATM
Any robbery that isn’t first-degree robbery would be considered second-degree robbery. The penalties for first-degree robbery include 3 to 9 years in California state prison while those for second-degree robbery include two to 5 years in prison.
Leave A Comment