On Monday, February 17th, deputies from the SCV Sheriff Station were patrolling in Canyon Country around midnight when they encountered a suspicious situation. They noticed a car parked in an alley behind some closed businesses at around midnight. Upon investigation, deputies learned that the female driver and male passenger both had warrants out for their arrests. After conducting a search, deputies found a “large quantity” of mail, credit cards, and debit cards that were not in any of their names. Deputies also discovered narcotics and burglary tools during their search.
The suspects were arrested and charged with identity theft, possession of burglary tools, and possession of narcotics. They were transported to the SCV Sheriff Station to undergo booking and processing. The charges surrounding their outstanding warrants are unknown at this time.
The state’s identity theft laws are covered under California Penal Code 530.5 PC. Under this law, it is illegal to take someone else’s personal identifying information and use it in an unlawful or fraudulent manner. “Personal identifying information” includes things like names, addresses, telephone numbers, driver’s license numbers, and passport information.
The crime can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and the defendant’s prior criminal history. When charged as a misdemeanor, the potential penalties include up to 1 year in county jail. When charged as a felony, the potential penalties include up to 3 years in jail.
Possession of burglary tools is covered under California Penal Code 466 PC. To be charged with possession of burglary tools, one must have in their possession certain tools, such as screwdrivers, picklocks, and crowbars, and must possess them with “criminal intent.” The crime is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in county jail.
Possession of narcotics is covered under California Health and Safety Code 11350 HS, California’s “possession of a controlled substance” law. The law makes it illegal to possess a “controlled substance” without a prescription. The crime is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.