Recently, two women were arrested on suspicion of theft at Magic Mountain after allegedly stealing from other visitors.
According to reports, deputies were called to the park by employees after they observed the alleged thefts occur. The employees observed the two suspects, both 19-year-old females, taking iPhones, wallets, and purses left near a rollercoaster. When spotted, the two teens were confronted and held by park employees while they called SCV Sheriff Station deputies.
Upon their arrival, the deputies took the two suspects to the Santa Clarita Sheriff Station to undergo booking and processing. As of the writing of this blog, the two were still being held there.
The state’s petty theft laws are covered under California Penal Code 484 PC. According to the law, it is illegal to take someone else’s property without their permission and claim it as your own.
Theft is divided into two categories: petty theft and grand theft. Petty theft is usually charged when a person steals someone else’s property and the value of that property is less than $950. Grand theft, then, is what they charge when the value of the property stolen equals $950 or greater. It should be noted that grand theft is also covered under a different law, namely California Penal Code 487 PC.
Petty theft is a misdemeanor in California, and the possible penalties include misdemeanor probation, up to 6 months in county jail, and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Grand theft is considered a “wobbler” in most cases, meaning that it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and the defendant’s prior criminal history. When charged as a misdemeanor, the maximum potential jail sentence is 1 year. When charged as a felony, the penalty is increased to 16 months to 3 years.