A burglary victim from Canyon Country recently saw his belongings (a toolbox) for sale while browsing an app used to buy and sell things called OfferUp. Upon seeing his belongings there, the victim called the SCV Sheriff Station and deputies quickly hatched a plan to nab the crook and recover the stolen items.
Deputies, posing as buyers for the stolen items, contacted the suspect and agreed to meet with him in North Hollywood. Upon meeting the suspect – stolen property in tow – deputies quickly arrested him and recovered the stolen items.
Since the suspect had the stolen property in his possession, he may be eligible for charges under California Penal Code 496 PC – receiving stolen property. This law makes it illegal to buy, sell, receive, conceal, or withhold from the owner, any property that you know to be stolen. The crime can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and the defendant’s prior criminal history.
If charged as a misdemeanor, the potential penalties include up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. If charged as a felony, the potential penalties include 16 months to 3 years in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Since the property was stolen during a burglary, if it’s able to be proven that the suspect is the one who stole the items (and not just the one selling it) it’s possible that he will also be charged with first-degree burglary under California Penal Code 459 PC. First-degree burglary (burglary of a residence), is always a felony in California, and the potential penalties include 2 to 6 years in California state prison.