Early last Wednesday morning four separate businesses in Santa Clarita were burglarized. At about 3:45 a.m., Pizza Di Marco 2 was burglarized. The security cameras on the property caught two individuals breaking into the restaurant. Once inside, the suspects ruined two computer registers while stealing the money inside. They also broke a printer and the front door. All told, the business owner lost $3,000 to $4,000 in damages.
According to the business owner, this is the 3rd or 4th time in 3 years that he was robbed. The owner says that every time he is robbed he has to come out of pocket to pay for the damages.
Two doors down from the restaurant stood another eatery, this time La Michocana Newhall. It was burglarized on the same night. Additionally, a few miles away, Achita Sushi and Life Thai Fusion were also burglarized on that evening. Police and victims are pretty sure that the same group of people hit all four locations. If you have any additional information about the crimes or the identity of the suspects, call the Santa Clarita Sheriff Station at 661-255-1121.
Burglary is covered under California Penal Code 459 PC and is described as entering a structure with the intention of comitting a felony once inside. While most people are correct to assume that burglaries include theft, they don’t necessarily have to. It’s possible to be charged with burglary for breaking into a building to commit any felony while inside, including assault and drug-related crimes.
Burglary is divided into two parts: first-degree burglary and second-degree burglary. First-degree burglary is charged with the structure that was broken into was A home or dwelling, while second-degree burglary covers all other burglary charges that do not meet the criteria for first-degree burglary. These are usually commercial structures, which is why second-degree burglary is often referred to as “commercial burglary.”
When charged with first-degree burglary, the potential penalties include formal probation, 2, 4, or 6 years in California State prison, and a fine of up to $10,000. For second-degree charges, the potential penalties include felony probation, 16 months to 3 years in county jail, and a fine of up to $10,00.